COURSES


Dental Career Institute offers the following courses:

  • Mandatory Courses for RDA, RDAEF, RDH, RDHEF, OA, DSA
    and DDS License Renewal:

Course Fee: $100.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

This 1-month Continuing Education class fulfills the California Dental Board requirements for biennial renewal for licensed professionals. It also reviews statutes of the California Dental Practice Act including license renewal requirements, Dental Professionals’ division of duties, Abandonment, citations, fines and disciplinary actions. After we receive the test packet and you pass the test, it will take additional 4-6 weeks to process your certificate. If you do not pass the test we will send you another test packet to retake the test with an additional charge of $25.00 reexamination fee.

Back to top


2-hour Infection Control Home Study Course

2 CE UNITS
MANDATORY FOR License Renewal 

Course Fee: $50.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

This 1-month Continuing Education class fulfills the California Dental Board biennial requirements for relicensure. Covers general infection control regulations for dentistry. Understand barrier protection and disinfection procedures to control the transmission of microorganisms. After we receive the test packet and you pass the test, it will take additional 4-6 weeks to process your certificate. If you do not pass the test we will send you another test packet to retake the test with an additional charge of $25.00 reexamination fee.


Back to top

  • CEU/Certifcation Courses

    Dental Radiation Safety Course - California Certification
    Blended Class (Online/ Home Study and Classroom/Lab)
    45 CE Units

Dental Board of CA Approval #X 242

Course Fee: $600-Supplies and Materials are included (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

Class Schedule: TBA weeknights or weekends, instructors TBA

Prerequisites:
Photocopies of the following documents must be included with the registration form and payment or on the first day of class. Incomplete prerequisites will not be accepted and students will be rescheduled for the next start date.

  • All students must have a minimum of six (6) months experience in the dental field
    -OR-
  • Be a graduate of a dental assisting program
    -OR-
  • Be currently enrolled in a dental assistant program
  • Must have an active CPR/ BLS certification from AHA -OR- ARC
  • Must have completed an 8-hour Board Approved Infection Control Certification Course
  • Must have a Social Security card or proof of SSN

MANDATORY CERTIFICATION COURSE for all DA/ RDA Applicants to receive a license. You do not have to be an RDA to take the course. This course provides x-ray certification training covering multiple exposure techniques. The course includes classroom and clinical training of dental radiation safety and techniques, film exposure, film mounting, bisecting and parallel techniques, processing and critiquing of films.

Four (4) clinical patients are required. Patients one, two and three will be done at your workplace and may be done using digital x-rays. The fourth patient is needed for the final exam and will use traditional films. The course is structured to meet the criteria set forth by the Dental Board for the operation of dental radiographic equipment in California. Certifications are issued after successful completion of the course.

Course Content and Format:

The Dental Radiation Safety Course is board-approved to satisfy state board requirements for certification. The course consists of three aspects:

  • Didactic: (home study) Students learn theoretical aspects relating to the California Dental Radiation Safety procedures, including basic dental anatomy, infection control, etc.

  • Laboratory: Students learn step-by-step procedures of the California Dental Radiation Safety process through laboratory experience with a mannequin.

  • Clinical: Students are required to complete four (4) clinical patients, a state board requirement for students to receive their certification in the course.

Patient Criteria:

- Must be at least 18 years or older.
- Must have no more than 6 missing teeth and at least 26 of their natural dentition present.
- No history of cardiovascular or kidney problem.
- Not pregnant.
- No braces or any orthodontic treatment
- Must complete all the clinical forms (patient information, medical/health history, consent- forms, Rx release and etc).
- Must have an Rx / prescription from a licensed dentist.


Back to top

RDAEF/ RDAEF2 Course
Blended Class (Online/ Home Study and Classroom/Lab)
410 CE Units for Active RDA
318 CE Units for Current RDAEF

Dental Board of CA Approval # EF 008

Class Schedule: January – December 2017

Course Fee: $10,499.99 (Supplies, Materials and Equipment are not included)
register

Tuition for each three-month course module is due at registration.
NO REFUND will be provided after registering for the course.

Module A: $3,499.99 January-April, 2017
Module B: $3,500.00 May-August, 2017
Module C: $3,500.00 September-December, 2017

Total length of the program: Nine (9) months

Prerequisites: Photocopies of the following documents must be included with the registration form and payment or on the first day of class. Incomplete prerequisites will not be accepted and students will be rescheduled for the next start date.

  • Valid/ Active California RDA License
  • Certification in P & F Sealants certification or shown on the RDA license card
  • CPR/BLS certification
    - American Heart Association or American Red Cross only
  • Proof of Liability Insurance Coverage. 
    - This is a copy of your dental malpractice insurance.
  • Current employment as a practicing RDA.
  • Employment letter from your employer/ DDS.
  • Participants will need to bring an extensive quantity of armamentarium.
  • A detailed description of these requirements and materials will be included in the confirmation packet mailed to the registered students.
  • PARTICIPATION OF SUPERVISING DENTIST IS NOT REQUIRED FOR CLINICAL HANDS ON FOR MODULES A and B.

Mandatory attendance is required for all supervising dentists on the first day of class for Module A, just to attend the one-day Teaching Methodology certification class.

Course Content and Format:

The Registered Dental Assistant in Extended Function (RDAEF) program has been expanded to include additional procedures including placement, contouring and finishing of direct filling restorations as well as the adjustment and cementation of permanent crowns.

This course will provide students with the essential knowledge, skills and practical experience to successfully acquire certification as a RDAEF, as approved by law for the RDAEF category of practice,

The RDAEF Program will be taught as a series of three (3) individual courses (modules) that must be successfully completed in sequence within an established time frame before sitting for the new State Board Examination.  Each module is designed to allow RDAs greater flexibility to meet the required budgetary and time commitments to successfully complete the requirements. 

Upon completion of the course, and after completing all Dental Board of California requirements for the RDAEF state exam, students may qualify to take the RDAEF State-Board examination for licensure.

To successfully complete the program and be eligible to sit for the new State Board Examination, participants are required to pass all three modules with a 75% or better pass rate.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION:

Current RDA 
410-hour program trains and prepares currently licensed RDAs to perform all of the new procedures in extended functions which include:

  • Performing patient oral health evaluations, charting and evaluating softtissue, classifying occlusion and myofunctional evaluation
  • Performing oral health assessments in community and school-based settings under the direction of a dentist, RDH or RDHAP
  • Sizing and fitting endodontic master points and accessory points
  • Taking final impressions for tooth-borne removable prostheses
  • Polishing and contouring existing amalgam restorations
  • Placing, contouring, finishing and adjusting all direct restorations
  • Adjusting and cementing permanent indirect restorations.

    Additionally, participants will be trained to perform:

  • Cord retraction of gingiva for impression procedures
  • Cementing endodontic master points and accessory points
  • Taking final impressions for permanent indirect restorations
  • All other procedures authorized and adopted by the Dental Board.

    **Please see Section 1753.6 of the California Business and Professions Code. 

Existing RDAEF 

318-hour program updates existing RDAEF (those licensed prior to January 1, 2010) in the new, allowable procedures for RDAEF described above. Participants who successfully complete this program will be eligible to take the RDAEF exam, and upon successful completion, are able to perform all of the expanded duties approved for currently licensed California RDAEF.

Course Content and Format:

This RDAEF course meets state board approved instruction needs for the new RDAEF licensure. The course consists of three aspects:

  • Didactic: (home study/online) Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to RDAEF duties and procedure.

  • Laboratory: Students will learn the step-by-step procedures of the RDAEF through laboratory experience with a typodont/ mannequin.

  • Clinical: Students will be required to complete qualified treatment of clinical patients, a state board requirement in order for students to complete the course.

Class Module Agenda:

Module A 

• Regulations: Dental Assisting scope of practice
• Dental sciences and materials related to course procedures
• Tooth isolation and matrix methodology related to restorative dentistry
• Bases and liners placement related to restorative dentistry
• Oral Health assessment including: intra and extra oral tissue evaluation, occlusal and myofunction evaluation and charting in traditional and community health project settings
•  Placement and finishing of Class I and V direct filling restorations, including amalgam, composite and glass-ionomer restorations
• Implementation of new expanded functions into a dental practice

Module B

  • Placement and finishing of Class 1, 2, 3, 4 direct filling restorations for children and adults
  • Polish and contour existing amalgam restorations

Module C

  • Impression taking for tooth-borne prostheses
  • Adjustment and cementation of permanent indirect restorations of ceramic, PFM and cast metal
  • Cementation of endodontic points
  • Clinical experience in placement and finishing of Class 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 direct filling restorations for children and adult

State Board Examination
Those who complete the RDAEF program must sit and pass a state written and practical/clinical examinations in selected procedures determined by the Dental Board of California.

Securing Course Registration
When all registration, and prerequisites are received, an enrollment confirmation, detailed schedule, armamentarium requirements and other forms will be e-mailed to the RDAEF student.

Externship Instruction/ Extramural Facility
RDAEF students must complete the clinical patients for amalgam and composite restorations for adult patients (permanent dentitions) in their dental office under the direct supervision of their dentist. The dentist will evaluate the student’s clinical procedures.

Externship Extramural Facility Instruction for Supervising Dentist
The supervising dentist must take and complete the mandatory 6 hour CE Teaching Methodology for clinical evaluation workshop at the Dental Career Institute OR must posses and turn in a copy of his/ her certificate of completion for the Teaching Methodology for clinical evaluation for the RDAEF from another institution AND sign the externship/ supervising dentist contract for the RDAEF course. Mandatory attendance is required for all supervising dentists on the first day of class for Module A, just to attend the one-day Teaching Methodology certification class.

Patient Requirements:

- Must be at least 18 years or older.
- No history of cardiovascular or kidney problem.
- Not pregnant.
- No braces or any orthodontic treatment
- Must complete all the clinical forms (patient information, medical/health history, consent- forms, task sheets, etc).

Repetition:

It is the policy of the Continuing Education provider that a student must complete the objectives and attend 100 percent of scheduled class time to receive a certificate. Students may repeat any class if course or individual objectives are unmet and the student may benefit from further instruction. Students must pay the module fee and other necessary fees to retake the class.

Overall Program Requirements:

  • Complete all three modules
  • 410 hours
  • Attendance at all sessions for all modules
  • Satisfactory progress and passing score on final Module Examinations
  • Attire – scrubs, closed-toed shoes, lab coats, eye protection, masks and gloves. Hair neatly groomed or pulled back. Nails short. Crisp professional appearance.
  • Must provide and bring own loupes (www.designsforvision.com or 1800-345-4009)
  • Must provide and bring own laptop computer
  • Must provide and bring own face mask, gloves, disposable gowns and utility gloves
  • Must bring own Instruments, supplies, materials and typodonts with prepped teeth from Columbia Dentoform.

NOTES:
*STUDENTS WHO DO NOT PASS THE WRITTEN TEST WILL GET A CHANCE TO RETAKE THE WRITTEN EXAMINATION A SECOND TIME WITH NO FEE.

*STUDENTS WHO DO NOT PASS THE PRACTICAL TEST WILL HAVE TO PAY THE PROGRAM MODULE (S) TO RETAKE THE RDAEF COURSE.


Back to top


Ultrasonic Scaling - Required for OAP California State Exam
Blended Class (Online/ Home Study and Classroom/Lab)
8 CE Units
Dental Board of CA Approval #US 25

Course Fee: $250.00-Supplies and Materials included (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

Course Schedule: TBA weeknights or weekends, instructors TBA

Prerequisites: Must be licensed as an RDA;-OR- must possess the necessary requirements for application for RDA -OR- OAP licensure -OR- must have an RDA/ OA diploma; CPR/ BLS certification from AHA or ARC.

Course Content and Format:
This board-approved course satisfies state board requirements for certification of RDA and OAP in ultrasonic scaling for ortho band cement removal. The course offers complete instruction in, and requires clinical practice using, the Ultrasonic Scaler by the RDA or OAP to remove excess cement from coronal surfaces of teeth in an orthodontic setting. Students are required to pass written and clinical examinations, which include practice on mannequins.. No clinical patients are required for this course. Students must bring their own safety glasses; all other course supplies are provided.

Final written and laboratory examination will be administered at the end of the course. The course consists of two aspects:

Didactic: (home study) Students will learn theoretical aspects relating to the ultrasonic scaling for ortho bands cement removal.

Laboratory: Students will learn step-by-step procedures for ultrasonic scaling of ortho bands cement removal through laboratory experience with a typodont/mannequin.


Back to top

Pit and Fissure Sealants Certification
Blended Class (Online/ Home Study & In-Person)
16 CE Units
Dental Board of CA Approval #PF 89

Course Fee: $500.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

Prerequisites: Must be licensed as an RDA OR is qualified to take the RDA examination; Must have Coronal Polishing certification; Hepatitis B immunization records OR HBV Refusal form; TB Test Result (old or new); CPR certification.

RDA applicants and RDA’s currently holding their coronal polishing certification and CPR license may take their pit and fissure sealant certification. Students will be taught through lecture, step-by step demonstration through a video/dvd format and laboratory experience on a typodont and live patients will be provided as well. To successfully complete the program, students will be required to to apply pit and fissure sealants on at least sixteen teeth on four live patients within two days. Upon completion of the course, students may perform pit and fissure sealants as part of the RDA duty.

CLASS INFORMATION:

Pit and Fissure Sealant Course for the RDA or RDA Applicants

In order for RDAs to perform duties for the pit and fissure sealants procedure, a two-day board approved pit and fissure sealant course is required to be completed. Upon successful completion of the course, a certificate of completion shall be given.

Course Content and Format:
Our Pit and Fissure Sealants course is a board approved course, which will satisfy the state board requirements for state certification of an RDA with Pit and Fissure Sealants procedure. The course consists of three aspects:

Didactic: (HOMESTUDY) Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to the pit and fissure sealants procedure such as basic dental anatomy, infection control, etc.

Laboratory: Students will learn the step-by-step procedure of the pit and fissure sealants procedure through laboratory experience with a typodont/manikin.

Clinical: Students will be required to apply pit and fissure sealants on a total of 16 virgin teeth, from a minimum of four live patients, a state board requirement in order for students to receive their certification in the course.

Course Requirements - Day 1: (Your Own Time)

HOMESTUDY: You have one week to complete the Didactic Portion of this course. (I will send/e-mail you all the course handout and syllabus)

Course Requirements - Day 2: (To Be Arrange)

Agenda 1: (Lab Session) Students will be practicing placing Sealants using a typodont.
Agenda 2: (Clinical Session)

NOTE: (ANOTHER OPTION) Four (4) Clinical Practice on a patient can be done in their Dental Office as long as the Dentist is willing to supervise the DA/ RDA student and sign the extramural facility contract from the course provider.

On the second portion of the course, students will be required to bring four clinical patients. These patients must meet the following requirements:

• Each patient should have a minimum of four (4) virgin non-restored natural posterior teeth (bicuspids and or molars) for application of sealants. 

• Each patient must have one tooth for each quadrant of the mouth to satisfy the minimum number of virgin non-restored posterior teeth to be sealed per patient.

• Patients are recommended to be 18 years of age or older, but may be at the minimum age of 12 years, do not have orthodontic bands or bonded brackets near the areas to be worked on.

Additional Patient Qualifications and Requirements:

- No history of cardiovascular or kidney problem.
- Must complete all the clinical forms prior to scheduled appointment.
- Must have Prescription or Letter from the Dentist that he/ she is qualified for the pit and fissure sealant certification program and must specify the tooth to be sealed.

Course Examination:

On the second portion of the course, which is also the last day, two of four clinical live patients shall serve as the student’s clinical final examination. Furthermore, a written examination will be administered to test the student’s knowledge in the theoretical aspect of the course.

If the student did not achieve the minimum competency on the clinical practice Course requirement, the student must retake the whole Pit and Fissure Certification program and pay the whole course fees.

Back to top
Orthodontic Assistant Permit Course for Dental Assistants
Blended Class (Online/ Home Study & In-Person)
84 CE Units
Dental Board of CA Approval #OA 6

Course Fee: $1300.00- Including Ultrasonic Scaling Certification (NON REFUNDABLE)
register

Prerequisites: Proof of 6 months work experience as a Dental Assistant; Hepatitis B immunization records OR HBV Refusal form; TB Test Result (old or new); CPR certification.
The Dental Career Institute state board-approved Orthodontic Assisting Permit Course provides students with the essential knowledge, skills and practical experience to successfully acquire a position as an orthodontic assistant. Students will learn to describe the types of malocclusion, discuss corrective orthodontics, describe the types of treatment involved, and become familiar with the types of diagnostic records used to assess orthodontic problems. In addition, the training program will also cover the ways to convey the importance of dietary and oral hygiene habits in orthodontics.

This program will train students to:

• Perform measurements for the purposes of orthodontic treatment;
• Placing and Removing orthodontic separators;
• Size, fit, and cement orthodontic bands;
• Remove orthodontic bands and remove excess cement from supragingival surfaces of teeth with a hand instrument;
• Remove excess cement with an ultrasonic scaler from supragingival surfaces of teeth undergoing orthodontic treatment practice.
• Prepare teeth for bonding, select, preposition, and cure orthodontic brackets after the licensed dentist has approved their position;
• Place and ligate archwires;
• Place and Remove ligature ties;
• Remove only orthodontic brackets and attachments with removal of the bonding material by the licensed dentist;
• After adjustment by the dentist, examine and seat removable orthodontic appliances and deliver care instructions to the patient.

Computer Requirements
This class is an online blended class. Students must have access to a computer and Internet for the program. Also students must have basic computer knowledge to ensure proper operation of online class work.

Supplies
Students will be required to bring orthodontic instruments and some orthodontic supplies. A list of the required materials will be sent after registration in the course.

OA Dental Board Written Examination Information
Effective January 1, 2010, All graduates of the Orthodontic assisting permit course will be required to take a state dental board-administered examination wherein the students must pass with a grade of 75% or above in order to receive their orthodontic assistant permit.

*OA - Orthodontic Assistant

Course Content and Format:
Our 84-hour Orthodontic Assisting Permit course is a board approved course, which will satisfy the state board requirements. The course consists of three aspects:

• Didactic: (HOMESTUDY) Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to the orthodontic assisting.
• Laboratory: Students will learn the step-by-step procedures of Orthodontic Assisting through laboratory experience in their dental office.
• Clinical: Students will be required to practice on a live patients in their dental office with direct supervision of a licensed dentist or orthodontist (minimum of two (2) clinical patients).

Back to top
8-hour California Infection Control Certification for Dental
Assistants
Blended Class (Online/ Home Study & In-Person)
Dental Board of CA Approval #IC 59

Course Fee: $250.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

INSTRUCTION FOR THE STUDENTS: Student must choose the Course Option Number they are planning to take and indicate it on the PAYPAL special instructions box provided.

Prerequisites: Dental Assistant Diploma OR Currently enrolled in a Dental Assisting Program OR Presently working as dental office staff; Hepatitis B immunization records OR HBV Refusal form; TB Test Result (old or new); CPR certification.

8-Hour Infection Control Course for DA, OA, DSA or RDA Applicants
In order for a DA to be compliant and RDA, OA, DSA applicant to satisfy the applicant requirements with the Dental Board of California new requirements for RDA applicant effective January 1, 2010, an 8-hour board approved Infection Control Certification course is required to be completed. Upon successful completion of the course, a certificate of completion shall be given.

On January 1, 2010, The Dental Board of California, under B&P Section 1750, has taken into effect a new requirement for unlicensed dental assistants wherein dental assistants under dentist’s continuous employment for 120 days or more must complete, within a year of the date of employment, a Dental Board- approved course in infection control, with a minimum length of 8 hours, and a Dental Board-approved course in the California Dental Practice Act. 

Course Option 1:
Course Content and Blended Format (Homestudy and Hands on):

Our 8-hour INFECTION CONTROL course is a board approved course, which will satisfy the state board requirements. The course consists of three aspects:

Didactic: (4-Hours: HOMESTUDY) Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to the current Infection control in dentistry.

Laboratory: Students will learn the step-by-step procedures of infection control through laboratory experience in their dental office.

Clinical: Students will be required to take the practical examination in our clinical laboratory site (TBA). One requirement in order for students to receive their certification in the course.

Course Option 2:

Course Date: Every Month (Call for the schedule)
Course Time: TBD
Location: Cerritos or Santa Ana, CA (Address will be provided upon receipt of payment).

NOTE: Minimum of 5 Students to start the option 2 course. If the class does 
not have the minimum number of students, may be cancelled.
Course Content and Blended Format (Homestudy and Hands on):

Our 8-hour INFECTION CONTROL course is a board approved course, which will satisfy the state board requirements. The course consists of three aspects:

Didactic: (4-Hours: HOMESTUDY) Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to the current Infection control in dentistry.

4-Hours:
Laboratory:
Students will learn the step-by-step procedures of infection control.

Clinical: Students will be required to take the practical examination in our clinical laboratory site. One requirement in order for students to receive their certification in the course.

Course Option 3:
Course Content and Blended Format (Homestudy and Extramural facility):

Our 8-hour INFECTION CONTROL course is a board approved course, which will satisfy the state board requirements. The course consists of three aspects:

Didactic: (4-Hours: HOMESTUDY) Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to the current Infection control in dentistry.

NOTE: The Dentist Must sign the extramural facility contract from the Dental Career Institute.

Laboratory: Students will learn the step-by-step procedures of infection control through laboratory experience in their dental office.

Clinical: Students will be required to take the practical examination in their dental office with a supervising dentist (Direct Supervision), one requirement in order for students to receive their certification in the course.

Back to top
8-hour California Dental Practice Act
HOME STUDY COURSE
MANDATORY FOR Dental Assistants, Specialty Assistants & License Renewal 

Course Fee: $100.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

8-Hour Infection Control Course for DA, OA, DSA or RDA Applicants

This 1-month Continuing Education class fulfills the California Dental Board requirements for licensure for RDA, OAP and DSA applicants. It also reviews statutes of the California Dental Practice Act including license renewal requirements, Dental Professionals’ division of duties, Abandonment, citations, fines and disciplinary actions. After we receive the test packet and you pass the test, it will take additional 4-6 weeks to process your certificate. If you do not pass the test we will send you another test packet to retake the test with an additional charge of $25.00 reexamination fee.

Back to top
Administrative Dental Assistant/Dental Billing & Coding
10 CE Units

Course Fee: $795.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

The 2-month Administrative Dental Assistant/ Dental Billing & Coding course is a home-study preparatory course, which introduces students to the basic functions and duties of Dental Assisting in the front office area of the dental office. With this course, students will understand the importance of excellent patient relations and interaction, organization of patient records, insurance billing and computer equipment efficiency in the dental office area. In addition, students will develop employability skills and strategies that they can use and apply once they practice at the actual dental office environment.

Back to top
Dental Terminology Certification
8 CE Units

Course Fee: $250.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)

Dental Terminology is a 2-month introductory course that prepares students in learning the different function, areas and fields of dentistry. Considered as a prerequisite for most Dental-related courses, this course develops an establishment of new terms and words lay people would hardly hear and learn about in a regular vocabulary course. With Dental terminology, students will gain the ability to recognize the language most professionals in the field of Dentistry use. In addition, they will be able to acknowledge different structures, areas and functions concerning the dental field.

Back to top Teaching Methodology for Educators
(Home Study/Online)
30 CE Units

Course Fee: $450.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

This 2-month Continuing Education class is recommended for all Dental Assisting Educators in need of knowledge in theoretical education, lesson-plan based teaching, and teaching strategies. Beginning teachers will learn the aspects of creating course outlines, lesson plans and effective activities for students to understand, and retain information given to them. This course also fulfills requirements for Teaching Methodology in Dental Radiation Safety, Coronal Polishing, Ultrasonic Scaling, Pit & Fissure Sealants, Infection Control, and Orthodontic Assisting.

Back to top
BLS for Healthcare Providers (CPR & AED) - American Heart Association
American Heart Association (2-Year Certification)

CEU:
4 Units

Course Fee: $50.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)
register

This 2-year Certification accredited by the American Heart Association, will provide students required CPR certification for Healthcare Professionals. The course will be composed of external adult, child infant training and defibrillation training. All supplies are furnished with the course fees. Group discounts are available and groups of 4 or more may be scheduled for in-office training.

CLASS LOCATION: 5191 Banbury Circle, La Palma, CA 90623

NOTE: To Schedule an appointment with the instructors, you can text or call them to the following numbers: Christina (562) 773-2474 or Cheska (714) 928-0228.

***Customized CPR Course is available for a minimum of 3 students in your office on a weekend. Contact the Christina (CPR Instructor) at (562) 773-2474, to schedule an appointment.

Back to top
Coronal Polishing Certification

(Blended Class (Online/ Home Study & In-Person)
12 CE Units
Dental Board of CA Approval #CP 36

Course Fee: $250.00 (NON-REFUNDABLE)

Coronal Polishing Course Information

Coronal Polishing Course for the RDA or RDA Applicants
In order for RDAs to perform duties for the coronal polishing procedure, a board approved coronal polishing course is required to be completed. Upon successful completion of the course, a certificate of completion shall be given.

Course Prerequisites:
In order to qualify in taking the course, the student should bring a copy of the 
following on the second session (laboratory day) or along with the registration:

• Certificate of completion for the California 8-hour Infection Control
• Current CPR card (AHA or ARC) 

Course Content and Format: 
The Coronal Polishing course is a dental board of California approved course, which will satisfy the state board requirements for state certification of an RDA with Coronal Polishing procedure. The course consists of three aspects:

Didactic (Home-study): Students will learn the theoretical aspects relating to the pit and fissure sealants procedure such as basic dental anatomy, infection control, etc.

Laboratory: Students will learn the step-by-step procedure of the coronal polishing procedure through laboratory experience with a typodont/manikin.

Clinical: Students will be required to complete three (3) clinical practices on live patients.

Course Requirements – (Home-study) Session 1:
On the first day, which is a home-study, students will complete the didactic portion of the Coronal Polishing Class at their own time for 4 hours and it must be done prior to the laboratory training schedule.

Course Requirements - Session 2:
On the second day of the course, students will be required to bring three clinical patients in the afternoon.

NOTE: (ANOTHER OPTION) Three (3) Clinical Practice on a patient can be done in their Dental Office as long as the Dentist is willing to supervise the DA student and sign the extramural facility contract from the course provider.
a. The criteria for these patients are:

• Must be at least 18 years or older.
• Calculus Free
• Moderate plaque
• No history of cardiovascular or kidney problem
• No braces or any orthodontic treatment
• Must complete all the clinical forms (patient information, medical/health history, calculus free forms, consent forms and etc).
• Must have an Rx (prescription or letter from the DDS or RDH) stating that the Patient is calculus free or must sign the calculus free form provided by the school.

Grading criteria:
- 75% passing written score
- 75% passing clinical score

Patient and Students Responsibilities:

1. It is mandatory that all students wear protective eyewear, gloves and masks.

2. Students must wear a uniform and a professional lab coat.

3. 3 (three) clinical patients must be calculus free. A licensed dentist or licensed dental hygienist must examine and sign the calculus free forms. You will not be able to complete this course unless you and your patients have the signed forms.

4. You must complete and sign all clinical forms before you can bring your clinical patients in the operatory.

5. You have to ask permission to your instructor or supervising dentist before you can bring or seat your clinical patients.

6. Your instructor or supervising dentist must check and signed all the clinical forms and evaluation sheets before you can start your coronal polishing procedures.

If the student did not achieve the minimum competency on the clinical practice
Course requirement, the student must retake the whole Coronal Polishing Certification program and pay the whole course fees.



registration form




 

JUMP TO:

Mandatory Courses for RDA, RDAEF, RDH, RDHEF, OA, DSA and DDS License Renewal: